Birthday season is over… for now.

Starting with my birthday in September and ending this week, between my family and my sister’s family, we celebrate 10 birthdays (5 adults, 5 kids). The kids’ birthdays are roughly 2 weeks apart. And since my sister lives just a mile away, we celebrate those kiddos’ parties together with a meal, gifts, lots of fun and noise, and of course cake and ice cream. Yeah, that’s a lot of cake and ice cream.

Now we get a little break before we start the birthday mini-season again starting February 28. We sure have a great time together and the cousins never tire of each other (for the long-term anyways). I hope (and I’m sure) we have enough joy still within us to celebrate just one more in the middle this family birthday hiatus: Christ’s birthday.

Is there anything you do specifically to celebrate Christ’s birthday? We always have a little gift under our Christmas tree with three little things signifying the gifts of the Magi. I know in the past my wife has made a small cake and we’ve sung happy birthday to Jesus. And my kids really enjoy listening to “Happy Birthday Jesus” by Carol Cymbala.

Happy Birthday Jesus
I’m so glad it’s Christmas
All the tinsel and lights
And the presents are nice
But the real gift is You
Happy birthday Jesus
I’m so glad it’s Christmas
All the carols and bells
Make the holidays swell
And it’s all about You

Happy birthday Jesus
Jesus I love You

© 1992 Word Music, LLC | Carol Joy Music

He is a wonderful gift. A gift to receive. A gift to share.

Leave a Reply

