Do you read what you sing? Do you sing what you read?

I’ve really been enjoying reading the bible lately. Now I’m gonna be totally honest with you; I’ve never read the entire bible through. I’ve always wanted to. I’ve started many times only to get bogged down and frustrated (usually in the same parts that are simply hard for me to read). But this time it’s different. My heart is different. Sometimes the version I read is different. The time of day is always different. And this time, my reading plan is different (I’m reading 10 different sections at a time). There’s bound to be something really fascinating each day!

As I’ve been doing my readings, I’m always amazed (and pleased) to recognize parts of scripture come to life in a song that I’m familiar with. One of those times was reading through Isaiah 35 when I read this verse.

“Say to those with fearful hearts, ‘Be strong, and do not fear, for your God is coming… He is coming to save you.’” Isaiah 35:4 NLT

I immediately recalled a song that I enjoy: “He Will Come And Save You” by Bob Fitts and Gary Sadler.

Say to those who are fearful-hearted “Do not be afraid”
The Lord your God is strong with His mighty arms
When you call on His name He will come and save

He will come and save you
He will come and save you
Say to the weary one
Your God will surely come
He will come and save you

He will come and save you
He will come and save you
Lift up your eyes to Him
You will arise again
He will come and save you

Say to those who are brokenhearted “Do not lose your faith”
The Lord your God is strong with His loving arms
When you call on His name He will come and save

He is our refuge in the day of trouble
He is our shelter in the time of storm
He is our tower in the day of sorrow
Our fortress in the time of war

© 1995 Integrity’s Hosanna!

A song of such encouragement, not only for ourselves, but for others to. God is there. God hears. God cares.

One thing I’ve noticed in my readings is that everything is so interconnected. Just like it ought to be. The Old and the New Testaments. Our life and the lives of others. What we read and what we sing.

Leave a Reply

