How Much Is All?

King David has given us such beauty in the Psalms. The range of emotions expressed in the Psalms really do cover the gamut of life experiences. If you have a struggle or joy you’re going through, you can find solace and security in the Psalms. One that I’ve been enjoying lately is Psalm 103. It is full of superlatives (but not necessarily with -est endings): God’s deeds, and my responses. Read the following excerpt (but be sure to read the rest of it too!):

Let all that I am praise the LORD;
with my whole heart, I will praise his holy name.

Let all that I am praise the LORD;
may I never forget [
all] the good things he does for me.

He forgives all my sins
and heals
all my diseases.

He redeems me from death
and crowns me with love and tender mercies.

He fills my life with good things.
My youth is renewed like the eagle’s! …

Let all that I am praise the LORD.

(Psalm 103:1-5, 22 NLT)

I had to add the extra all in the 2nd verse. It really means not one of. Kinda makes it harder to count your blessings, huh? But really, all? I know that’s something that God can do; but is that something I can even do?

Reading this Psalm made me dig out the definition of worship that I settled on a couple years ago through a worship class.

Worship is my response to God,
with
all that I am, to all that He is.

I know I’m not going to be able to get it all, all of the time. But I know that the God I serve can, and in my heart I want to, too.

Leave a Reply

