Thank-full?

The other night, as we were praying before dinner, I was reminded of one of the kids’ prayers a few years ago as they asked the blessing: “Dear God, thank you for the things we like, and the things we don’t like.” Pretty much covers it, huh?

They were definitely young and couldn’t quite articulate the specifics (“I really don’t like this dinner”, “my brother/sister is such a pest”, “chores, ugh”), but they were thankful. They were realistic. They were honest.


Job was a man who appears to have it all, have it all go away, then have it all again (twice over).

He said, “I came naked from my mother’s womb, and I will be naked when I leave. The LORD gave me what I had, and the LORD has taken it away. Praise the name of the LORD!” Job 1:21 NLT

Twice in the first two chapters it says that Job did nothing wrong in what he said. As his “friends” came to counsel him, there were times they got it right and times they got it wrong. And so did Job.

In the end, it all comes back to God. As He has said, “I AM the beginning and the end.” He sees everything outside of time and knows that His perfect will is being worked out. Some of the hard times are from discipline, refining, proving. Some of the blessings are from obedience, refining, proving. But how will you respond?

You give and take away
You give and take away
My heart will choose to say
Lord, blessed be Your Name!
Blessed Be Your Name” by Matt Redman 

Let us sing and make music to the Lord in our hearts, and give thanks for everything to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ. (Ephesians 5:18–20)

Leave a Reply

