Who Do You Trust?

This week (and last) my kids have been attending swim lessons. Usually a big hit in the summer because you get to change out of your pj’s right into your swimsuit (even if your lessons are closer to lunch than breakfast).

There’s always anticipation and anxiety jumping into something new: maybe a new teacher (I like my teacher last year better), a new level (am I going to have to go in the deep end?), or just new (I don’t like it). We have to encourage our kids and help their fears by reminding them that the teachers (who are lifeguards) will not have you do anything that will harm you. They are challenging you to develop new skills, to become safer in the water. And if you do have a hard time, they’re there to help you. It’s their job.

Webster’s Dictionary defines trust as assured reliance on the character, ability, strength or truth of someone or something. Being introduced to something new requires a level of trust. Our kids need to trust us that we not endangering them. We are in fact trusting the training of these lifeguards to not endanger them. As they (and we) see their instruction and their confidence grow, our (and their) trust increases.

Our Lifeguard is very trust worthy: “Don’t let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God, and trust also in me. (John 14:1 NLT). Psalm 121 is a great encouragement to look to and trust only in the Creator of all things. The song, “I Lift My Eyes Up” is based on that psalm.

I lift my eyes up to the mountains
Where does my help come from?
My help comes from You
Maker of heaven creator of the earth

Oh, how I need You, Lord
You are my only hope, You’re my only prayer
So I will wait for You to come and rescue me
Come and give me life

I love how at the end of the psalm we’re told that the LORD keeps watch over you as you come and go (not just for the moment but) both now and forever. His love and protection is everlasting. Now that is someone to trust in.

 

Leave a Reply

