What did you expect?

Although I’m writing this before Christmas is over, I’ve been through enough to know that what goes up, must come down. Expectations are met and missed, energy levels race and relax, and checkbooks well…

Some of these elevation differences are welcome, some disappointing, but all a part of the ebb and flow of life. As I look forward to Christmas (and you, back), we can both recall the Christmas Story. Mary and Joseph expecting have a place to stay to birth their Son were probably displeased to be shuffled to an out-of-the-way place. The startled shepherds excited about their new news found things just as they were told. Simeon and Anna were just thrilled (but not beyond words) that their faithful God kept His promises to them.

Now didn’t each of these people hear from God a promise? And wasn’t The Promise fulfilled? Mary and Joseph certainly had difficulty in carrying their burden, traveling to Bethlehem, fleeing to Egypt. The shepherds found their news to be promptly confirmed “just as the angel had told them”. And Simeon and Anna rejoiced and could rest knowing they had seen the Lord’s salvation. What did they expect?

What experiences have you had, maybe even in the last week or so, that made you delighted or disgusted? Maybe you got/gave what you’ve always wanted. Maybe you wished that family visit would’ve been more memorable (in a good way, I mean). If there’s one thing you can count on, it’s you can’t always count on Man. But God, that’s a different story. Read the words to the song God Of My Days by Zach Neese:

You awaken my heart from slumbering / Meet me in mourning and You speak to my grief / You’re the light in my darkness / The delight of my eyes / The hope of the daybreak when the sun’s slow to rise / I trust that ev’ry moment’s in Your hands

You’re the God of my days King of my nights / Lord of my laughter sov’reign in sorrow / You’re the Prince of my praise the love of my life / You never leave me You are faithful / God of my days

You unveil my eyes help me to see / The arms of my Father encircling me / You’re a constant companion / I am never alone / Your love is the banner that’s leading me home / I trust that ev’ry moment’s in Your hands

My eyes are on You / My hope is in You / My faith is in You

Look to, rest your hope on, and have faith in our never-changing, ever-loving God. Know Him and you’ll always know what to expect (from Him, at least).

Why am I discouraged? Why is my heart so sad? I will put my hope in God! I will praise him again— my Savior and my God! Psalm 42:5

Leave a Reply

