Fearful?

I think all my kids were/are afraid of the dark. There’s several night lights in various rooms of the house; bedrooms of course and even bathrooms and the hallway. And thanks to the high-tech world we live in, there are a few corners of the house you might actually be able read a book at night! But is it really the dark that is scary? Our house is very safe (I think) and really the fear is just “seeing” things (or stubbing a toe, or stepping on a LEGO).

There are many fears. Phobias. I’ve seen lists in various places, and I think some might scare me, however some seem just silly. But I’m sure they are very real.

“For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline.” (2 Timothy 1:7 NLT-SE)

Fear and timidity in this verse speaks of faithless cowardice. God has not given us that, but mighty strength, goodwill, and self-control. But even better, He has not simply given us these things. He has given us Himself, who is all these things (and more).

A new favorite song of mine is “Whom Shall I Fear” by Ed Cash, Scott Cash, and Chris Tomlin. It describes the difficulties we face, asks the question “whom shall I fear?”, and answers it in the chorus:

I know Who goes before me / I know Who stands behind / The God of angel armies is always by my side / The One who reigns forever / He is a friend of mine / The God of angel armies is always by my side

I think the chorus tells us two things. We don’t have to face our fears alone because He is with us, and as the Proverbs teach, “the fear of the Lord” has great benefit. But this fear is not faithless cowardice, but awesome reverence.

“And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love. Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow—not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love.” (Romans 8:38 NLT-SE)

We are His. He is faithful. We have nothing to fear.

Leave a Reply

