Where is your strength?

I can’t say I’m too experienced in great loss. Maybe my memory just isn’t very good, but I haven’t had sudden catastrophes consume me. I’ve not had to endure the loss of a child/spouse/parent/close friend. No natural disasters, no unexpected hospitalizations, no haunting questions of the unknown. I have had the occasional employment adversity, but I haven’t had the “hard-knock” life. There’s always challenges. Always something that’s not quite fair (But who says life is fair, where is that written?)

It’s hard to see the purpose that God has for you in whatever hardship that is being endured. I’ve decided that sometimes the purpose is simply that you’re drawn closer to the God who made you, loves you, and upholds you. When you lack the strength to stand, you look to God to be your strength.

Brenton Brown and Paul Baloche co-wrote a song “God My Rock” in which they deal with those times when the only thing you have left is God, and that is good.

When my heart is overwhelmed, I will look to You alone: God, my rock…
You will stand when others fall; You are faithful through it all: God, my rock…

In the blessing in the pain; through it all You’ve never failed me
You are the strength of my heart, I can rely on You

When I’ve struggled to believe, You have not let go of me: God, my rock…
Carried through the darkest storms, You have held me in Your arms: God, my rock…

In the blessing in the pain; through it all You’ve never failed me
You are the joy of my life, You are my song in the night
There is no one as true, Jesus, I trust in You

Whatever the Lord is bringing you through, know this: He will bring you through. Then you can sing praise and honor Him with your lips and shout as David did:

“I love you, LORD; you are my strength. The LORD is my rock, my fortress, and my savior; my God is my rock, in whom I find protection. He is my shield, the power that saves me, and my place of safety.” (Psalms 18:1–2 NLT)

I love you Lord, my strength; God, my rock.

Leave a Reply

