Which part?

What does your average day look like? With the start of school underway, chances are it’s a bit more predictable. What are some of the parts days have: quiet/noisy times, planning/reacting times, sleeping/awake times, sitting/standing times, walking/driving times, happy/sad times, talking/listening times? Are you content with what your day looks like? Or is there something nagging at you that just doesn’t “fit”.

I’ve found that some of the times that just don’t fit, are the times that I don’t think are God-ordained times. I get fooled into thinking that some of the time I spend (read waste) is OK. And that’s the problem. God doesn’t just want me part of the time, but all the time. Don’t compartmentalize God.

A simple song that gets me back on track is “Take My Life” by Scott Underwood. 

Holiness, holiness is what I long for.
Holiness is what I need.
Holiness, holiness is what you want from me.

Take my heart, and form it
Take my mind, transform it
Take my will, conform it
To Yours, to Yours, oh Lord

©1996 Mercy / Vineyard Publishing

Funny thing is, “take my life” isn’t even in the song—anywhere. But that’s the point. All these “parts” need to be offered up to God. And all the parts of our day; the magnificent and the mundane. Remember Paul’s challenge to the believers in Rome.

Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect. Romans 12:2 NLT

What would a perfect day look like to you? Which parts of your day need to be given to God? Where are your days leading you?

Leave a Reply

