Do you ever feel that you’re drifting along in this life journey? The worries and storms of life remain in crisp focus, while you don’t even notice that you’re still safely in the boat. Maybe the boat you’re in is even anchored securely, yet the waves keep crashing over the sides and soaking you to the skin; the salt water tasting awfully like the tears you cry. Even at the harbor, you can’t help but notice that your little dinghy doesn’t match up to the other great sailing vessels at port.

Really, whatever kind of craft you have, it’s important to know that ultimately, you’re safely in the Loving Father’s hands. The psalmist praises God for His ever-presence in Psalm 139:7-10.

I can never escape from your Spirit!
I can never get away from your presence! 

If I go up to heaven, you are there;
if I go down to the grave, you are there. 

If I ride the wings of the morning,
if I dwell by the farthest oceans,
even there your hand will guide me,
and your strength will support me. (NLT)

If you find you’re fleeing or just at the mercy of a tempest you didn’t ask for, you can never be too far from God’s grasp. You can be sure that He has you firmly. He has promised to never leave you, nor forsake you. Knowing that God is in control and He is trustworthy will renew your strength. I’m encouraged by that in the song Your Love, O Lord by Third Day taken from Psalm 36:

Your love, O Lord, reaches to the heavens.
Your faithfulness stretches to the skies.
Your righteousness is like the mighty mountains.
Your justice flows like the ocean’s tide.

I will lift my voice to worship You my king.
And I will find my strength in the shadow of Your wings.

© 1999 New Spring Publishing, Inc.

So where will you go? Hopefully you will choose to go with God. And if you choose that, wherever you go, you’ll also go with God’s love.

Where Can I Go?

Leave a Reply

