Going for the gold?

We’ve been watching the Winter Olympics lately at our house. It’s so exciting to see these athletes compete against each other/themselves/the clock. Some have a rivalry; that’s what keeps them pressing on. Some are overcoming injury or disappointment in the past; that’s what drives them. Some are just so pleased to be at the Olympics; that’s the accomplishment.

Even after the Olympics are over, we’ll still be watching. The kids, that is. They get inspired and then role play—over and over—the thrill of victory and the agony of defeat. Actually it’s always victory; complete with awards ceremony, anthem, hugs, kisses, etc. It always reminds me that they are watching. You know what I mean. They are watching to see how I’m going to react, what I’m going to say, what I’m doing. Right now. Every day.

Just like the media that’s right there to conduct an interview of the latest gold medalist/disqualified competitor, the world is watching to see how I’m going to react, what I’m going to say, what I’m doing. Right now. Every day.

What will they see? What will they say I’m pursuing? Consider this…

More Precious Than Silver by Lynn DeShazo

Lord You are…more precious than silver
…more costly than gold
…more beautiful than diamonds

And nothing I desire compares with You

That really is the measure of things. The loftiest goal. Striving to be like Christ.

“I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us.” Philippians 3:14 NLT

“Truth from your mouth means more to me than striking it rich in a gold mine.” Psalm 119:72 MSG

So, going for the gold? I hope so.

Leave a Reply

