Got Joy?

Got Joy?

There is a song that is dear to me. It is a song of great comfort when I find myself trusting only in myself; serving only myself. It’s a song that I return to not only when I need to come to repentance, but also when I might feel all alone. Although the author of the song and tune of Create In Me A Clean Heart is “unknown”, we do know that King David wrote it and it’s found in Psalm 51.

Create in me a clean heart, O God;
And renew a right spirit within me

Cast me not away from thy presence, O Lord;
And take not Thy Holy Spirit from me.

Restore unto me the joy of Thy salvation
And renew a right spirit within me.

The first phrase seeks God and asks for His purity. By the blood of Christ we have been cleansed white as snow. When the Holy Spirit convicts you and you come clean, He brings your spirit back in line and you get clean.

The second phrase may seem that God would abandon you, but He’s promised to never leave us or forsake us; we are sealed. But don’t you just cry out that way? Do you ever feel, “Oh, He wouldn’t forgive me now, not this time.” Read Romans 8:38. When our family is getting ready to go somewhere and Bethany is slow to join us, sometimes she’ll cry out, “Wait! Don’t leave me!” We would never leave her, and I think she knows that too, but sometimes it’s nice to be reassured.

Then the final phrase is the sweetest, I think. Sometimes I forget. Sometimes I take it for granted. This great gift of eternal life is tremendous. I’m not just saved for eternity (Ho-Hum); I’m saved for eternity (Yes!!!)

So do you have that salvation? Yeah, then you got joy!

Leave a Reply

