All Alone?

Here I sit. Alone in my office. Diffusing On Guard essential oil; hopefully killing germs. Listening to my water fountain percolating, imitating a bubbling brook. I hear voices. Faithful servants fulfilling the obligations they’ve made to God, to one another; enjoying fellowship together. As their meeting comes to an end, one by one they depart leaving one behind who finishes the final touches to the project they’ve all been working on. And now they’re working alone.

But that’s the thing. We’re never alone. Never. Alone.

Read the words to this new song by Kari Jobe, “I Am Not Alone”. I’ve been encouraged and challenged by it lately and we’ve been worshiping together with it on Sunday mornings.

When I walk through deep waters I know that You will be with me
When I’m standing in the fire I will not be overcome
Through the valley of the shadow I will not fear

I am not alone, I am not alone
You will go before me, You will never leave me

In the midst of deep sorrow I see Your light is breaking through
The dark of night will not overtake me I am pressing into You
Lord You fight my every battle And I will not fear

You amaze me redeem me, You call me as Your own
You amaze me redeem me, You call me as Your own

You’re my strength, You’re my defender, You’re my refuge in the storm
Through these trials You’ve always been faithful, You bring healing to my soul

Do you ever wonder, like me, “Where are You, Lord?” How is it that I can go most of a day sometimes and not call to mind that the Lord is with me? How is it that I sometimes “forget” the Lord’s promise to never leave me, never forsake me.

I can take courage because “the Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still” (Exodus 14:14). The Lord is “my strength and my shield” (Psalm 28:7). And “He is my shield, the power that saves me, and my place of safety” (Psalm 18:2).

I need to remember, and not forget. I am never alone. Never. Alone.

“Let all that I am praise the LORD; with my whole heart, I will praise his holy name. Let all that I am praise the LORD; may I never forget the good things he does for me.” (Psalm 103:1–2)

Leave a Reply

