Who Are You?

If you’re like me, I will sometimes find myself going through an identity crisis. In my case, I’m being pulled different ways by different relationships (dad, husband, son, friend, pastor, and now coach?!). Some are only for a season and some for a lifetime. They are all important and all take time to nurture and grow. In the midst of trying to juggle the many hats you may wear, it’s easy to forget another hat that you will have. This last one is actually a crown.

“And now the prize awaits me—the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, will give me on the day of His return. And the prize is not just for me but for all who eagerly look forward to His appearing.” 2 Timothy 4:8, NLT

Though it is promised for us on that “great day”, we are called to live as if the day were to come at any moment. But there are many times I don’t feel worthy of wearing a crown. What have I done to deserve that? Who am I? Casting Crowns has an excellent song by that same title: Who Am I? In it, the lyrics ask the questions that we find ourselves asking when we don’t feel worthy of the righteousness that God has bestowed upon us. Here’s a sample:

Who am I, that the Lord of all the earth
Would care to know my name
Would care to feel my hurt…

Who Am I, that the eyes that see my sin
Would look on me with love
And watch me rise again…

Not because of who I am
But because of what You’ve done
Not because of what I’ve done
But because of who You are …

And You’ve told me who I am
I am Yours…

So who are you? You’re a child of the King! Let’s worship that King!

Leave a Reply

