Which Word?

I enjoy word games. Jill and I have several word games we like to play: Boggle, Quiddler, Bananagrams, and of course, Scrabble. It’s fun to see what words you can come up with in a bunch of jumbled letters. Now picture you have the following letters: EEPRSUU. What words do you see? Two words that jump out to me are: PERUSE and PURSUE. Though each word is not comprised of the exact same letters, they look similar. And as it turns out their meanings are quite related. And both crucial in the study of scripture.

To peruse means to examine carefully or at length. To pursue means to seek to attain or accomplish a goal over a long period. God gave us His precious word to be poured over; learning His instruction, and living it out all our lives.

Psalm 19 is beautiful. It begins with a declaration of God’s glorious creation (v1-6), continues with a multi-faceted view of God’s Word (v7-11), and finishes with a admission of our imperfections and desire for purity.

Looking again at v7-11, do I really know all of God’s perfect instructions? Do I find joy in his right, true and fair laws? Do I desire it more than riches?

Perusing more of God’s Word will reveal to us how far we are from His perfection. So let us pursue after God and His will for our lives so that we will be a pleasing offering to Him.

May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing to you, O LORD, my rock and my redeemer.”  Psalms 19:14 NLT

P.S. When I first started this article, I was going to compare/contrast peruse/pursue because I thought peruse was to “read through quickly or gloss over”. Was surprised by what it really meant! See what happens when you don’t peruse? Misinformed pursuits maybe? Hmmm. So, to answer the question “which word” would describe your bible study, how about both.

Leave a Reply

