Got Enough?

There is a Finnish Proverb that reads: “Happiness is a place between too little and too much.”

But can you really have too little? Too much? Agur, the very little known writer of Proverbs 30 explains what would happen if the Lord’s provision was too far from “enough”.

“…give me neither poverty nor riches! Give me just enough to satisfy my needs. For if I grow rich, I may deny you and say, “Who is the LORD?” And if I am too poor, I may steal and thus insult God’s holy name.” (Proverbs 30:8-9 NLT)

The apostle Paul said, “I know how to live on almost nothing or with everything. I have learned the secret of living in every situation, whether it is with a full stomach or empty, with plenty or little.” Not because he was so great: “Boy, look at me. Aren’t I something!” No, he goes on to say, “For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength.” (Philippians 4:12-13 NLT)

When he was little, my son Caleb had a very innocent way in which he gave thanks. He would sometimes pray at the dinner table and thank God for each of us (including himself) and usually included this phrase: “Thank you for the things we like, and the things we don’t like.” Granted, he’s talking about some of the food we’re about to eat that he’s not too crazy about, but that pretty much covers it doesn’t’ it? Let’s replace “like” for “have”. God has placed us right where we are, with what we have. Now are there things we shouldn’t strive for? Not necessarily, but still pursue godliness. Read 1 Timothy 6:6-11.

I’ve heard it best said like this: “Contentment is not having what you want, but wanting what you have.” And that should be enough.

Leave a Reply

