Looking Back? Or Looking Up?

As we begin a new year, it’s easy to look back and think about the woulda, coulda, shoulda beens. Regrets are easy to notice, but they’re not easy on us. They wear us down, discourage, destroy. But Jesus came that we might have life: real, full, abundant life. More and better than we’ve ever dreamed of. (John 10:10)

Consider the lyrics to this African American Spiritual, Give Me Jesus made popular by Fernando Ortega:

In the morning when I rise
In the morning when I rise
In the morning when I rise
Give me Jesus

Give me Jesus give me Jesus
You can have all this world
But give me Jesus

And when I am alone
Oh and when I am alone
And when I am alone
Give me Jesus

And when I come to die
Oh and when I come to die
And when I come to die
Give me Jesus

The new year is a great time to refocus our efforts, rekindle our relationship with the Lord, renew our hearts. Actually every day, every moment, every breath is a chance to start anew.

Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need. Matthew 6:33 NLT

In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world. John 16:33 NIV

Leave a Reply

