Where is your hope?

David trusted/loved/feared/honored/remembered/worshiped God. But I’m sure there must’ve been times, when being chased and hunted by Saul, that he thought, “OK, I’ve had enough. You win. I give up.” There were even times when David had the chance to “end” all the chasing and hunting. But He would not harm the Lord’s anointed one. He would wait.

Waiting. Waiting is difficult. It’s certainly not passive. Sometimes it takes all your strength to wait. But the Lord will renew that strength.

The past several years, I’ve enjoyed the music of Paul Baloche. Here is an excerpt of one of his songs, My Hope.

Nothing will change if all the plans I make go wrong
Your love stays the same
Your light will guide me through it all
I’m hanging on I’m leaning in to You

I don’t know where You’ll take me
But I know You’re always good

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Your great love Your righteousness
I will not walk another way
I trust Your heart I trust Your Name
I’m holding on I’m holding on to You

by Alyssa Mellinger | Ed Kerr | Paul Baloche | Sheila Rabe
© 2010 Integrity Worship Music, Leadworship Songs, kerrtunes

Waiting is difficult. But…

“The LORD is good, a strong refuge when trouble comes. He is close to those who trust in him.” Nahum 1:7

“I waited patiently for the LORD to help me, and he turned to me and heard my cry.” Psalms 40:1

So where is your hope? Can you put your name in David’s place above?

Leave a Reply

